An Education Designed for Girls

Australian Education Award Finalists Announced

St Patrick's College Stands Out in National Education Awards

St Patrick’s College Townsville and two of its teachers join an elite group of educators and schools selected as finalists in this year’s prestigious Australian Education Awards, with another teacher reaching “star” status.

The College is named a finalist for Regional School of the Year by the judging panel for the Australian Education Awards. It’s the only school in Townsville and one of only eight schools nationwide selected in the Finals.

“This is a fantastic achievement for our College and our teachers,” said Ms Paulina Skerman, College Principal. “It is a strong testament to our rigorous academic program and expert teaching team.”

St Patrick’s College has experienced tremendous positive growth over the past five years targeting the development of key focus areas* including: maintaining consistently high standards of teaching and learning; strengthening relationships internally as well as externally; striving to innovate and deliver continuous improvement to the curriculum and student outcomes; and delivering on a commitment to enhancing infrastructure and facilities.

“St Patrick’s College is a recognised leader in the secondary education of girls,” said Ms Skerman. “Increasingly, we’ve become recognised as the school of choice for young women of the North, we have had the opportunity to benefit from the unique tropical lifestyle and build an exciting education program designed especially for girls. We are proud to be honoured by this nomination.”

In addition, the College’s Head of Faculty – Science & Technology, Mr Chris Pacey is a finalist for the award Department Head of the Year and early career teacher, Ms Jordan Stewart, is a finalist for the award Rising Star of the Year.

Mr Pacey is an award-winning Head of Faculty at the College. He has pioneered a robust science curriculum which features a highly acclaimed Marine Science course – one of its kind in the region. He has successfully built strong partnerships with local organisations, including James Cook University, to extend the impact and opportunities available to staff and students.

“Mr Pacey has played a pivotal role in reshaping and enhancing our STEM Excellence Program,” said Ms Skerman. “Under his leadership, there has been a significant expansion in our academic and extracurricular offerings in the Sciences, including an innovative Marine Science program for which he was awarded the ‘Peter Doherty Outstanding Teacher of STEM Award’ in 2016 and was part of the team named a finalist for the 2018 Australian Education Awards’ ‘Best STEM Program.’”

Ms Jordan Stewart is an inspiring young educator with a commitment to best practice and a flair for engaging students. She joined the College’s Science Faculty in 2018 and has stood out for driving student academic success in STEM subjects.
“It’s been said that the most meaningful measure of teaching is student learning. Ms Stewart has demonstrated teaching excellence that exceeds her years in teaching.”

“We have a great team here at the College and the announcement of these awards speaks to the incredible dedication and passion our teachers have for their craft. Our girls are being taught by experts in their fields. I share my heartfelt congratulations with both of them.”
“We are certainly very excited as we wait for the final announcements later this year.”

On the heels of this announcement, the College’s Dean of Innovation, Ms Annie Van Homrigh, is named on The Educator’s ‘Rising Stars 2019’ list amongst a select group of talented educators from across Australia under the age of 35. The annual list recognises potential leaders in the K-12 education sector.

“Ms Van Homrigh is an inspirational leader. Her commitment to the College and the success of her students has significantly contributed to this, and many other accolades,” said Ms Skerman.

The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony to be held at Dockside Sydney on Friday, 16 August 2019. For more information, please see:


Contact Us

St Patrick’s College Townsville
45 The Strand (PO Box 721)
Townsville Qld 4810

College Administration:
T (61) 4753 0300
F (61) 4753 0336
Email Administration

College Absence Line: 47530377

CRICOS No: 03317K

Call in and visit us on Townsville’s Strand beachfront...Where Ambition Meets Compassion

A Ministry in Mercy Partners